Cart 0

The Smile - A Light For Attracting Attention CD/2LP/DLX 2LP

  • £32.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The highly anticipated debut album from The Smile on XL Recordings.

The band, comprising Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood and Sons of Kemet’s Tom Skinner, have previously released the singles You Will Never Work In Television Again, The Smoke and Skrting On The Surface to critical acclaim.

The single Free In The Knowledge was first performed by Thom Yorke as part of the Letters Live event at London’s Royal Albert Hall, in December 2021, the first time Thom had performed since the pandemic began. Introducing the song, he dedicated it to all fellow UK musicians.

The 13-track album was produced and mixed by Nigel Godrich and mastered by Bob Ludwig. Tracks feature strings by the London Contemporary Orchestra and a full brass section of contemporary UK jazz players including Byron Wallen, Theon and Nathaniel Cross, Chelsea Carmichael, Robert Stillman and Jason Yarde. Artwork by Stanley Donwood and Thom Yorke.


1. The Same
2. The Opposite
3. You Will Never Work in Television Again
4. Pana-vision
5. The Smoke
6. Speech Bubbles
7. Thin Thing
8. Open the Floodgates
9. Free in the Knowledge
10. A Hairdryer
11. Waving a White Flag
12. We Don't Know What Tomorrow Brings
13. Skrting on the Surface

About this product: this release is available on CD, LP and DLX LP formats.

The CD is housed in a gatefold sleeve, includes a 16-page booklet.

The 2LP is pressed on black vinyl, housed in a gatefold sleeve

The DLX 2LP is pressed on yellow vinyl, housed in a gatefold sleeve.