Cart 0
Matt Sweeney & Bonnie 'Prince' Billy - Superwolves CD/LP

Matt Sweeney & Bonnie 'Prince' Billy - Superwolves CD/LP

  • £12.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Where once was Superwolf, now roam Superwolves, the new album and demon spawn of Matt Sweeney and Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy. The songs that make up "Superwolves", the duo’s second album and first since 2005’s "Superwolf", go boldly into undreamed-of places, and go deep, as Matt and Bonny take all the musics they know to make songs that penetrate.

In classic Garcia-Hunter style, Sweeney and the ‘Prince’ first work separately, finding a path to each other in their solitary imaginings. Bonnie lyric sets delivered to Matt spark Sweeney’s guitar brain; chords and a melody are shaped, recorded fast and loose and sent back to the Prince, then the two parties meet up to sing, stitch, strengthen and finally perform them together in front of a small unsuspecting audience. Then new sets of lyrics are sent, animated and played in a high wire style until the shared songs and experiences are ready to commit to record. This is just the beginning of their fusion process, as words imply vocalizations to counter and support, and guitar lines suggest harmonic fields to subtly push into.

In this process, a new creature grows out of the old one. In this name of this partnership, the guitar shares an open and fluid space with the vocals, the voices sing with the guitars - every moment in the life of "Superwolves" is an extravaganza, guided only by its need.


1. Make Worry for Me
2. Good to My Girls
3. God is Waiting
4. Hall of Death
5. Shorty's Ark
6. I am a Youth Inclined to Rabble
7. My Popsicle
8. Watch What Happens
9. Resist the Urge
10. There Must be a Someone
11. My Blue Suit
12. My Body is My Own
13. You Can Regret What You Have Done
14. Not Fooling

About this product: this is available on CD and LP formats.

The LP is pressed on 'Ocean Blue' vinyl, housed in a tip-on sleeve. Includes a fold-out lyric insert and a temporary tattoo giveaway.