Cart 0
Various Artists - Suedehead: Reggae Classics 1971-1973 LP

Various Artists - Suedehead: Reggae Classics 1971-1973 LP

  • £20.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Suedehead sound of the early 70’s followed the Skinhead style of the 1968-70 period.

The notable difference could be seen and heard, the sharp jerky upbeat rhythms were slowing down a notch to what we soon be calling that early Reggae Sound. The tougher harder look of the Rude Boy / Skinhead style was relaxing a little to almost meet with the less frantic rhythms to a more slowed down groove like sound. The hair got a little longer, going from a Mark 1 to a Feather Cut style.

The ‘Rude Boy Out of Jail’ type lyrics were becoming more conscientious, this was another twist and turn in the ever evolving sound of Jamaican music, but what is sure the artists and producers never disappointed us in this period, so here is a compilation of some tunes that the Suedehead crowd were grooving to.

It features tracks from Delroy Wilson, Alton Ellis, Twinkle Brothers, Cornell Campbell, John Holt, etc.


1. The Best is Yet to Come [Twinkle Brothers]
2. Here Comes the Heartaches [Delroy Wilson]
3. Stars [Cornell Campbell]
4. Day Will Come [The Claradonians]
5. Don't Try and Use Me [Horace Andy]
6. My Confession [Cornell Campbell]
7. Play It Cool [Alton Ellis]
8. Daddy's Home [Pat Kelly]
9. Who Cares [Delroy Wilson]
10. It's a Jam in the Street [John Holt]
11. Cool Operator [Delroy Wilson]
12. Let the Power Fall on I [Max Romeo]
13. Girl of My Dreams [Cornell Campbell]
14. Cheer Up [Delroy Wilson]

About this product: this release is pressed on black vinyl.