Cart 0

Ultramagnetic MC's - Critical Beatdown (Expanded) 2LP

  • £30.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

New York Hip Hop revolutionaries Ced-Gee, Kool Keith, Moe Luv and T.R. Love, known as Ultramagnetic Mc’s dropped their seminal debut album "Critical Beatdown" in 1988.

Immediately grabbing the attention and pushing the boundaries of hip hop into new horizons, it was hailed as a masterpiece by the underground. Influential hip hop magazines The Source and Hip Hop Connection both listed "Critical Beatdown" in their Top 100 charts, naming it one of the best 100 hip hop albums ever.

The 1986 single Ego Trippin' is one of the first tracks to use the SP1200 drum machine (programmed by producer Ced-Gee), and the SP1200 would later become the golden standard for many hip hop producers.

This expanded edition features not only the original album with the 15 tracks, it also includes 6 bonus tracks: the original 12” versions of Funky, Bait, A Chorus Line featuring Tim Dog, Mentally Mad plus Traveling at the Speed of Thought (Hip-House Club Mix) and Ego Trippin' (Bonus Beats) coupled for the first time ever on vinyl.

It also contains a 4-page booklet with interviews, rare photos and liner notes written by Angus Batey, the author of Rhyming and Stealing: A History Of The Beastie Boys and a writer for Hip Hop Connection and Mojo magazine.


1. Watch Me Now
2. Ease Back
3. Ego Trippin' (MC's Ultra Remix)
4. Moe Luv's Theme
5. Kool Keith Housing Things
6. Traveling at the Speed of Thought (Remix)
7. Feelin' It
8. One Minute Less
9. Ain't It Good to You
10. Funky (Remix)
11. Give the Drummer Some
12. Break North
13. Critical Beatdown
14. When I Burn
15. Ced-Gee (Delta Force One)
16. Funky (Original 12" Version)
17. Bait (Original 12" Version)
18. A Chorus Line (Original 12" Version) [feat. Tim Dog]
19. Traveling at the Speed of Thought (Hip-House Club Mix)
20. Ego Trippin' (Bonus Beat)
21. Mentally Mad (Original 12" Version)

About this product: this is the extended reissue pressed on 2x 180g yellow vinyl, each copy is individually numbered out of 2000.

It includes a 4-page booklet of material by Angus Batey and an exclusive photo of the Ultramagnetic MC's on thick board.