Cart 0
The Pyramids - King Of Kings LP

The Pyramids - King Of Kings LP

  • £26.00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Strut present three separate reissues of the 1970s album trilogy from Idris Ackamoor and The Pyramids.

As students at Antioch ollege, Ohio, alto saxophonist Idris Ackamoor, flautist Margaux Simmons and bass player Kimathi Asante created three lasting monuments in sound — "Lalibela", "King of Kings" and "Birth / Speed / Merging", a trio of albums produced without any label backing or distribution between 1972 and 1976. Their music is unique among the varied canon of avant-garde and experimental music of 1970s America: high intensity African-styled percussion topped with songs, chants, and horns, laced with African instruments and arranged into long, flowing suites that surge and roll.

"King of Kings" was recorded in 1974 and features a wider array of instruments including Ugandan Harp and Balafon. Perhaps best known for the expansive Nsorama (The Stars) a seminal work of Spiritual Jazz.


1. Mogho Naba (King of Kings)
2. Queen of the Spirits
3. Nsorama (The Stars)
4. My Africa

About this product: this reissue is pressed on black vinyl.