Cart 0
The Shins - Oh, Inverted World (Loser Edition) LP

The Shins - Oh, Inverted World (Loser Edition) LP

  • £23.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

"Oh, Inverted World", the earth-shattering, indie-rock-redefining 2001 debut album by The Shins, is presented here in its finest form, dressed up all nice for its 20th birthday.

Hailing from Albuquerque, NM, The Shins sprung from the ashes of Flake/Flake Music in 1997 (though those previous incarnations date back nearly a decade) – same members, different instruments, different approach. Counterpoint guitars have given way to a single guitar pitted against calculated keyboard passages; swarming indie rock machinations led to pop-based melodic endeavours.

The classic tunes get new life by way of a full remastering job under band leader James Mercer’s watchful eye, the art is given a little extra zest via a die-cut jacket and a classy inner sleeve, and the package is rounded off with a big ol’ booklet with vintage photos, handwritten lyrics, and more.

The music, of course, is essential. Aside from a friendly reminder that this is the album with the smash hit New Slang, as heard in the hit movie Garden State, we just need to note that the remastering job truly makes this the album James Mercer always wanted it to be. Never quite satisfied with the sonics of the original, Mercer took the 20th anniversary of the album as his opportunity to finally set the record straight, and the results sound stellar: great for new fans, and well worth the attention of those already on board.


1. Caring is Creepy
2. One by One All Day
3. Weird Divide
4. Know Your Onion!
5. Girl Inform Me
6. New Slang
7. The Celibate Life
8. Girl on the Wing
9. Your Algebra
10. Pressed in a Book
11. The Past and Pending

About this product: this is the Indie Exclusive 20th Anniversary reissue on light blue vinyl with white marble, house in a extra wide sleeve with a custom dust sleeve and a 20-page booklet.