Cart 0

Tindersticks - Past Imperfect: The Best Of Tindersticks ’92 - '21 2CD/2LP

  • £30.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

As the band celebrate their thirtieth year, "Past Imperfect…" showcases collected works throughout their rich history, with the addition of one new track.

It is in chronological order and split in to 4 sections / 2 halves – the first half being the original line up of the band with Al Macaulay (drums), Mark Colwill (bass) and Dickon Hinchliffe (violin, guitar, string arrangements). The second half is the present-day line up with Earl Harvin (drums) and Dan McKinna (Bass, piano, string arrangements). Stuart. A. Staples, Neil Fraser (guitar) and David Boulter (various instruments) are always present.

There are two songs from Claire Denis films – Tiny Tears from ‘Nanette et Boni’ (’96) and Both Sides of the Blade from her latest film ‘Avec amour et acharnament’ (’21). There is also the version of Willow sung by Stuart, rather than Robert Pattison who sang the version in High Life (’19).

“Nobody was between us and the records that we made,” says Tindersticks frontman Stuart Staples. Mavens of intimate and expansive mood-song, Tindersticks have forged paths of their own unobstructed making over three decades, avidly trend-averse in their dusky and far-reaching explorations of the heart.

Released through City Slang, "Past Imperfect: The Best of Tindersticks ’92-’21" maps the band’s 30-year journey across a peerless 20-track chronology. “Each step a story,” as Staples said on How He Entered. And every song a fresh twist in a winding tale. It is the sound of an uncommonly ambitious band always seeking new ways to connect with their songs, rediscovering themselves as a unit at every turn so that everything familiar about their music sounds fresh again.


1. City Sickness
2. Her ('92)
3. Tiny Tears
4. Travelling Light [with Carla Torgerson]
5. My Sister
6. Rented Room
7. Can We Start Again?
8. Dying Slowly
9. Sometimes It Hurts [with Lhasa de Sela]
10. My Oblivion
11. Harmony Around My Table
12. Show Me Everything
13. This Fire of Autumn
14. Medicine
15. What Are You Fighting For?
16. How He Entered
17. Were We Once Lovers?
18. Willow
19. Pinky in the Daylight
20. Both Sides of the Blade

About this product: this release is available on 2CD and 2LP formats.

The 2CD comes in a digipack.

The 2LP is pressed on black vinyl, housed in a gatefold sleeve. Includes a download code.