Cart 0
Various Artists - Fire Over Babylon: Dread, Peace and Conscious Sounds at Studio One 2LP

Various Artists - Fire Over Babylon: Dread, Peace and Conscious Sounds at Studio One 2LP

  • £28.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Soul Jazz Records’ new Studio One collection "Fire Over Babylon: Dread, Peace and Conscious Sounds at Studio One" features a stellar selection of 70s roots music - classic and rare tracks recorded at Clement Dodd’s musical empire at 13 Brentford Road in the 1970s.

Rastafarian-inspired Roots music was an ever-important aspect of Studio One’s output from the start of the 1970s onwards and this album features many of the groundbreaking groups and artists that established the sound of Jamaica during this decade and beyond.

Featured here are seminal artists such as Freddie McGregor, The Wailing Souls, The Gladiators, Horace Andy, Devon Russell, Cedric Brooks, Count Ossie and Judah Eskender Tafari alongside a host of lesser-known rare cuts made at Studio One from artists such as The Prospectors, Viceroys and Pablove Black.

Studio One and founder Clement Dodd’s connection with Rastafarianism dates back to the early 1960s, with Dodd accompanying members of the Skatalites up to the hills of Kingston to listen to the music of the Rastafarian Count Ossie and his drummers. The album sleeve notes discuss how Clement Dodd’s musical links, as well as his role in heading the most important record label in Reggae, are in many ways linked to the beliefs of Rastafarianism.


1. I am a Revolutionist [Freddie McGregor]
2. Burning in My Soul [The Silvertones]
3. Without You [Wailing Souls]
4. Jah Jah Fire [Devon Russell]
5. Sufferation [Trevor Clarke]
6. Sonia [The Gladiators]
7. Always Trying [Judah Eskender Tafari]
8. Ya Ho [The Viceroys]
9. Give Me Back Me Language and Me Culture [Im and Count Ossie]
10. Serious Thing [The Gladiators]
11. Glory for I [The Prospectors]
12. Things and Time [Wailing Souls]
13. Inner Peace [Pablove Black]
14. Peace [The Gladiators]
15. Mr. Jolly Man [Horace Andy]
16. Rock But Don't Fall [Wailing Souls]
17. Righteous Man [Albert Griffiths and The Gladiators]
18. So Many Problems [The Viceroys]

About this product: this is pressed on 2x heavyweight black vinyl, housed in a gatefold sleeve. Comes with a download code.