Cart 0
Various Artists - Studio One Roots: The Rebel Sound At Studio One 2LP

Various Artists - Studio One Roots: The Rebel Sound At Studio One 2LP

  • £28.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

"Studio One Roots" set the standard for Soul Jazz Records’ long-standing series of Studio One collections and features many of the classic artists from Clement ‘Sir Coxsone’ Dodd’s mighty roster of reggae.

This album includes Freddie McGregor, Willie Williams, Cornell Campbell, Alton Ellis and Devon Russell alongside some of the defining Crack Session Men Groups of Jamaican reggae history, including The Sound Dimension, Brentford All-Stars, The Skatalites, New Establishment and more.

As ever the compilation is filled with a mixture of seminal cuts and super-rarities from the vast vaults of 13 Brentford Road.


1. Meditation [The Cyclones With Count Ossie]
2. Natty Don't Go [Cornell Campbell with The Brentford Rockers]
3. Africa Here I Come [Freddie McGregor with The Sound Dimension]
4. Lumumbo [Bunnie & Skitter]
5. Addis Ababa [Willie Williams with the All Stars]
6. Set Me Free [L Crosdale with Drum Bago and the Rebel Group]
7. Far Beyond [Leroy Wallace with The New Establishment]
8. More Creation [Lennie Hibbert]
9. Blackish White [Alton Ellis with The Sound Dimension]
10. Fear Not [Winston Jarrett with The Sound Dimension]
11. Drum Song [Devon ‘Soul’ Russell]
12. Africa [The Gaylads]
13. School Children [Black Brothers with The New Establishment]
14. You'll Get Your Pay [Linton Cooper with The Brentford Disco Set]
15. Congo Rock [Sound Dimension]
16. African Challenge [Zoot Simms]

About this product: this is pressed on 2x black vinyl.