Cart 0
Various Artists - CUBA: Music and Revolution: Culture Clash in Havana: Experiments In Latin Music 1975-85 Vol. 1 2CD/3LP

Various Artists - CUBA: Music and Revolution: Culture Clash in Havana: Experiments In Latin Music 1975-85 Vol. 1 2CD/3LP

  • £13.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

"CUBA: Music and Revolution: Culture Clash in Havana: Experiments in Latin Music 1975-85 Vol. 1" is a new album compiled by Gilles Peterson and Stuart Baker (Soul Jazz Records) that explores the many new styles that emerged in Cuba in the 1970s as Jazz, Funk, Brazilian Tropicalia and even Disco mixed together with Latin and Salsa on the island as Cuban artists experimented with new musical forms created in the unique socialist state of Cuba.

The album comes as a heavyweight triple vinyl and deluxe double CD, complete with extensive sleeve notes, and is jam-packed with heavy bass lines, synth and Wah-Wah guitar funk combined with the heavyweight percussion, powerful brass lines and the all-encompassing Latin rhythms of Cuban music known throughout the world.

The music on this album features legendary Cuban groups such as Irakere, Los Van Van and Pablo Milanés as well as a host of lesser known artists such as the radical Grupo De Experimentación, Juan Pablo Torres and Algo Nuevo, Grupo Monumental and Orquesta Ritmo Oriental, groups whose names remain largely unknown outside of Cuba owing to the now 60-year old US trade embargo which remains in place today and which prevents trade with Cuba – and thus most Cuban records were only ever available in Cuba or in ex-Soviet Union states.

The music on this album reflects the most cutting-edge of Cuban groups that were recording in Cuba in the 1970s and 1980s – who were all searching for a new Cuban identity and new musical forms that reflected both the Afro-Cuban cultural heritage of a nation that gave birth to Latin music – and its new position as a socialist state. Most of the music featured on this album has never been heard outside of Cuba.


1. Chequere Son [Irakere]
2. El Son Del Campeon [Conjunto Rumbavana]
3. Mi Ritmo Caliente [Machito & His Afro-Cubans]
4. Mi Son Caridad
5. Sondeando
6. Con Cadencia y Con Dulzura
7. Y No Le Conviene
8. Te Quiero Porque Te Quiero [Pablo Milanés]
9. Luna Wanestain [Emiliano Salvadore]
10. Un Lamento Hecho Cancion [Los Reyes 73]
11. Vocación Revolución
12. Hasta Las Cuantas [Los Van Van]
13. Solo Esta Musica 
14. Canción Con Todos
15. Yo Se Que Van Van [Los Van Van]
16. Nadie Se Siente Cansado [Grupo Monumental]
17. Maria, Baila El Son [Darvel Garcia]
18. Rompe Cocorioco [Juan Pablo Torres]
19. Grandes Amigos 
20. La Patica
21. Grifo
22. Dacapo
23. Juana 1600 [Irakere]

About this product: this compilation is available in 2CD and 3LP formats.

The 3LP is pressed on standard black vinyl.