Cart 0
Dead Kennedys - Bedtime For Democracy LP

Dead Kennedys - Bedtime For Democracy LP

  • £22.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

"Bedtime for Democracy is the fourth and final studio album by American punk rock band Dead Kennedys. Released in 1986, songs on this album cover common punk subjects often found in punk rock lyrics of the era such as conformity, Reaganomics, the U.S. military, and critique of the hardcore punk movement.

The album's title refers to the 1951 comedy film, Bedtime for Bonzo starring Ronald Reagan and also reflects the band's weary bitterness from the trial they were undergoing at the time over the controversial art included with their previous album.

By the time recording of Bedtime for Democracy had begun, the Dead Kennedys had already played what would be their last concert with Jello Biafra and announced their breakup immediately after the release of the record, whose opening track is a cover of David Alan Coe's Take This Job and Shove It.


1. Take This Job and Shove It [David Allan Coe cover]
2. Hop with the Jet Set
3. Dear Abby
4. Rambozo the Clown
5. Fleshdunce
6. The Great Wall
7. Shrink
8. Triumph of the Swill
9. Macho Insecurity
10. I Spy
11. Cesspools In Eden
12. One-Way Ticket to Pluto
13. Do the Slag
14. A Commercial
15. Gone with My Wind
16. Anarchy for Sale
17. Chickenshit Conformist
18. Where Do Ya Draw The Line
19. Potshot Heard Round the World
20. D.M.S.O.
21. Lie Detector

About this product: this reissue is pressed on black vinyl.