Cart 0
Neutral Milk Hotel - On Avery Island LP

Neutral Milk Hotel - On Avery Island LP

  • £18.00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Part of the Elephant 6 family (a collective of lo-fi indie bands from the nineties that included the Apples in Stereo and Olivia Tremor Control), Neutral Milk Hotel is the lo-fi brainchild of Louisiana-native Jeff Mangum.

1996's "On Avery Island" is an inscrutable concept album, a chronicle of an insular world told in a remarkably universal language. A fuzzy masterpiece of experimental lo-fi recording, the album wraps its ragged pop songs in ribbons of loops, marching-band squawks, and casio noodling.

The opener, Song Against Sex, is as much a manifesto as a kick-off, a self-propelled marvel hopped up on rapid-fire wordplay and a stunningly ramshackle melody punctuated by bloated trombone moans. Throughout the record, Jeff Mangum's wheels threaten to fly off at any time - his songs are cryptic and crazed, his ideas fast and furious, and together they force the home-recording concept out of the basement and into a brave new world.


1. Song Against Sex
2. You've Passed
3. Someone is Waiting
4. A Baby for Pree
5. Marching Theme
6. Where You'll Find Me Now
7. Avery Island / April 1st
8. Gardenhead / Leave Me Alone
9. Three Peaches
10. Naomi
11. April 8th
12. Pree-Sisters Swallowing a Donkey's Eye

About this product: this reissue is pressed on black vinyl. Includes a download code that features bonus tracks.