Cart 0

Tim Hecker - The North Water (Original Score) CD/LP

  • £22.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Tim Hecker's incredible score to "The North Water", starring Colin Farrell and Jack O'Connell. Both have formats have beautiful artwork throughout using stunning imagery from the film.

“The score for The North Water was written just before and during the pandemic in 2020, mostly over arguably one of the darkest winters of some memory in Montreal,” says Hecker.

“The music was an attempt to add depth and texture to a five-hour doomed arctic journey that charts a trajectory from hardened optimism into abject futility. We worked with a primary palette of synthesizers, electronics, and treated cello, in rich live spaces as well as suffocating dead ones. This version of the score is an enhanced mix of some of the material that made its way into the project.”

Adapted from a novel of the same name – The North Water by Ian McGuire – it tells the story of a disgraced doctor who becomes a medic onboard an Arctic whaling ship.


1. Seasick
2. First on Deck
3. Delirious Hunt
4. Seasick II
5. Left on the Ice
6. Our First Whale
7. Ice Row
8. It's a Mistake to Think Too Much
9. The Warmth of Drax
10. Winter's Coming
11. Loot
12. A Breather
13. Seasick III
14. Twinkle in the Wasteland
15. Starting Over Again

About this product: this release is available on CD and LP formats.

The CD comes in a digipack.

The LP is pressed on 180g black vinyl, housed in a deluxe sleeve. Includes a download code and printed insert.