Cart 0
Betty Davis - They Say I'm Different LP

Betty Davis - They Say I'm Different LP

  • £30.00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

One can hardly imagine the genre-busting , culture crossing musical magic of Prince, Erykah Badu, Rick James, The Roots, or even the early Red Hot Chili Peppers without the influence of R&B pioneer Betty Davis.

Her style of raw and revelatory punk-funk defies any notions that women can’t be visionaries in the worlds of rock and pop. In recent years, rappers from Ice Cube to Talib Kweli to Ludacris have rhymed over her intensely strong but sensual music.

Her 1974 sophomore album "They Say I’m Different" features a worthy-of-framing futuristic cover challenging David Bowie’s science fiction funk with real rocking soul-fire, kicked off with the savagely sexual Shoo-B-Doop and Cop Him (later sampled by Ice Cube). Her follow up is full of classic cuts like Don’t Call Her No Tramp and the hilarious, hard, deep funk of He Was a Big Freak.


1. Shoo-B-Doop and Cop Him
2. He Was a Big Freak
3. Your Mama Wants Ya Back
4. Don't Call Her No Tramp
5. Git in There
6. They Say I'm Different
7. 70's Blues
8. Special People

About this product: this is a reissue.