Cart 0
Eels - End Times LP

Eels - End Times LP

  • £26.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The eighth Eels studio album, "End Times", is the sound of an artist growing older in uncertain times. An artist who has lost his great love while struggling with his faith in an increasingly hostile world teetering on self-destruction.

Largely self-recorded on an old four-track tape machine by eels leader Mark Oliver Everett aka E in his Los Angeles basement, it's a 'divorce album' with a modern twist: the artist equates his personal loss with the world he lives in losing its integrity.

When Everett finds comfort 'In a Dying World,' the end times he speaks of isn't about 'mayan calendar conspiracy theory bullshit,' he says, but, 'the state of the desperate times we live in. The bottom line-ness of it all. The end of common decency. The loss of caring about doing a good job. These are tough times. Who can you trust? Walter Cronkite is just a ghost.'

While the last Eels album, "Hombre Lobo" tackled the subject of desire, 'the before, the spark that ignites everything,' Everett says, "End Times" is about the other side: the after. And while "Hombre Lobo" was written from the point of view of a fictional character, "End Times" is pure real life.

Brutally unblinking, "End Times" may be the elecro-shock blues of break-up albums. While the 1998 Eels album "Electro-Shock Blues" dealt with the untimely deaths of Everett's mother, father and sister, "End Times" takes a hard look at losing love.


1. The Beginning
2. Gone Man
3. In My Younger Days
4. Mansions of Los Feliz
5. A Line in the Dirt
6. End Times
7. Apple Trees
8. Paradise Blues
9. Nowadays
10. Unhinged
11. High and Lonesome
12. I Need a Mother
13. Little Bird
14. On My Feet

About this product: this release is pressed on black vinyl, housed in a gatefold sleeve.