Cart 0
Cathal Coughlan - Song Of Co-Aklan LP

Cathal Coughlan - Song Of Co-Aklan LP

  • £18.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Cathal Coughlan is the co-founder and singer of acclaimed 80s/90s pop-rock groups Microdisney and Fatima Mansions, and widely considered to be one of Ireland's most revered singer/songwriters, beloved by fans of caustic literate music in the vein of Wilco, Robert Forster and Mark Eitzel. He's released four acclaimed solo albums and this will be his first new music in 10 years.

Enclosed in a stunning sleeve by award-winning Bruce Brand (The Darkness and White Stripes) with an eye-catching portrait by outsider artist Cristabel Christo. The new record not only has his usual backing musicians, The Necropolitan String Quartet, but also Luke Haines (Auteurs / Black Box Recorder), Sean O'Hagan (Microdisney/High Llamas), Rhodri Marsden (Scritti Politti) , Aindrías Ó Gruama (Fatima Mansions), Cory Gray (The Delines) and Dublin singer-songwriter Eileen Gogan.

Loosely conceptual, and based around the persona of Co-Aklan, the LP is melodic and inventive. Twelve fabulous new songs showcasing Cathal's signature caustic wit and smoky baritone, which has earned him comparisons to Scott Walker; three singles taken from the album will have promotional videos from Marry Waterson and Andy Golding of the Wolfhounds.


1. Song of Co-Aklan
2. Passed-Out Dog
3. My Child is Alive!
4. Crow Mother
5. St Wellbeing Axe
6. Owl in the Parlour
7. Let's Flood the Fairground
8. The Lobster's Dream
9. The Copper Beech
10. The Knockout Artist
11. Falling Out North Street
12. Unrealtime

About this product: this is limited issue pressed on black vinyl and comes with a printed inner sleeve.