Cart 0
Kasai Allstars - Black Ants Always Fly Together, One Bangle Makes No Sound CD/LP po

Kasai Allstars - Black Ants Always Fly Together, One Bangle Makes No Sound CD/LP po

  • £22.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

This 4th full-length album by the legendary Congolese collective marks a new milestone in their already rich history, as the band have incorporated their own approach to electronic music into their new compositions.

The album was produced by guitarist Mopero Mupemba, who also wrote about half of the songs. Mopero also took care of the often intricate programming, which is perfectly adapted to Kasai Allstars' peculiar rhythmic patterns drawn from traditional trance and ritual music. It features Kasai Allstars mainstays such as vocalist Muambuyi (whose voice and personality inspired the making of multi-awarded feature film Félicité), vocalist and electric likembe player Kabongo, powerful singer Mi Amor, and instrumentalists Tandjolo and Bayila. Wonderful young vocalist Bijou makes a notable first appearance on several tracks.

Kasai Allstars was born from the reunion of five bands, all from the Kasai region, but originating from five different ethnic groups whose diverse musical traditions were thought to be incompatible until these musicians decided to pool their resources and work together, an inspiring example of collaboration transcending ethnic and language barriers.

They're admired by artists such as Saul Williams, Questlove and Björk, have engaged in live collaborations with Deerhoof, Juana Molina and Konono N°1, and have had their tracks remixed by the likes of Animal Collective, Deerhoof, Aksak Maboul, Jolie Holland, Shackleton and more.


1. Kasai Munene
2. Olooh, a War Dance for Peace
3. Musungu Elongo Paints His Face White to Scare Small Children
4. Like a Dry Leaf on a Tree
5. The Large Bird, the Woman and the Baby
6. Baba Bende
7. The Ecstasy of Singing
8. Hunters and Farmers Need the Blacksmith
9. Betrayal by Gossip
10. Unity is Strength
11. Allstars All Around
12. The Goat's Voice

About this product: this is available on CD and LP formats.

The LP is pressed on black vinyl.