Cart 0

Darkthrone - Goatlord: Original CD/LP

  • $13.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Darkthrone began life in the late 80's, experimenting with thrash, death and doom metal before eventually delving into the black metal genre and becoming synonymous with the style as one of the most highly regarded acts. "Goatlord" was the title of what was to originally be Darkthrone's second album.

The style followed very much in the vein of debut, "Soulside Journey", with a midpaced melodic, yet technical, death metal style. After the full completion of the tracks, however, Darkthrone's focus shifted towards black metal and a more primitive style of composition and so the album was shelved, while work commenced on what was to be the Norwegian black metal milestone, "A Blaze In The Northern Sky", which incorporated some parts from the "Goatlord".

"Goatlord: Original" contains these cult tracks in their original instrumental form, recorded in the band's rehearsal space (vocals were added in the mid-90's before an official release came through Moonfog Productions in 1996), with the classic line-up of Gylve 'Fenris' Nagell on drums, Ted Skjellum on lead guitar, Ivar Enger on rhythm guitar and Dag Nilsen on bass.

Taken from Fenriz's original tape source & transferred/mastered by Patrick Engel at Temple of Disharmony, this is the pinnacle of Darkthrone's more death/doom metal-oriented direction before the transition towards black metal infamy. Featuring intricate arrangements, sombre melodies and a truly distinguishable style overall, "Goatlord: Original" represents a band performing well in advance of its young age.

Artwork for this release appears courtesy of renowned artist, Zbigniew Bielak.


1. Phantasm
2. Hearses
3. Possessed
4. Below
5. Blasphemer
6. Rise
7. Eclipse
8. Wings
9. Wolf
10. A Blaze In the Northern Sky
11. Trident

About this product: this release is available on CD and LP formats.

The LP is pressed on black vinyl.