Cart 0
Billie Marten - Flora Fauna LP

Billie Marten - Flora Fauna LP

  • £22.00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

"Flora Fauna" is the third album from Billie Marten. Raised in the rolling hills of North Yorkshire on artists such as Nick Drake, Joni Mitchell, Joan Armatrading and Kate Bush, Marten’s critically acclaimed debut album "Writing of Blues and Yellows", was released in 2016 when she was still just 17, while its follow-up "Feeding Seahorses by Hand" was similarly lauded in 2019 (# 53 in UK album chart).

The album was recorded with Rich Cooper in London. Marten’s new material blends those signature hushed, resonant vocals with a rapid pulse and rich instrumentation, her inspirations now stretching from krautrockers Can, to Broadcast, Arthur Russell and Fiona Apple.

Built on the minimalist acoustic folk foundations she made a name for herself with, "Flora Fauna" is a more mature, embodied album fostered around a strong backbone of bass and rhythm. Shedding the timidity of previous work in favour of a more urgent sound, the songs mark a period of personal independence for Marten as she learned to nurture herself and break free from toxic relationships - a big part of that was returning to nature.


1. Garden of Eden
2. Creature of Mine
3. Human Replacement
4. Liquid Love
5. Heaven
6. Ruin
7. Pigeon
8. Kill the Clown
9. Walnut
10. Aquarium

About this product: this is a limited pressing on 'Sun Yellow' vinyl.