Cart 0
Nucleus - Alleycat LP

Nucleus - Alleycat LP

  • £28.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Come for the leopard, stay for the stone cold jams. Yet another thrilling, funky-prog jazzy-rock fusion beauty from Ian Carr’s Nucleus.

Originally released on Vertigo in 1975, Alleycat was never repressed so those original copies are now very tricky to score. Like all the Nucleus records, it’s aged ridiculously well and this Be With re-issue, re-mastered from the original analogue tapes, shows off just why this deserves to be back in press.

Genius trumpeter and visionary composer Ian Carr was one of the most respected British musicians of his era. He was a true pioneer and saw the potential in fusing the worlds of jazz with rock, just as Miles Davis and The Tony Williams Lifetime did in the US. In late 1969, following the demise of the Rendell-Carr quintet, and tiring of British jazz, Carr assembled the legendary Nucleus.

Regarding music as a continuous process, Nucleus refused to “recognise rigid boundaries” and worked on delivering what they saw as a “total musical experience”.


1. Phaideaux Corner
2. Alleycat
3. Splat
4. You Can't Be Sure
5. Nosegay

About this product: this reissue is pressed on black vinyl.