Cart 0
Amy Winehouse - Back To Black LP

Amy Winehouse - Back To Black LP

  • £28.00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

With producer Salaam Remi returning from "Frank", plus the welcome addition of Mark Ronson (fresh off successes producing for Christina Aguilera and Robbie Williams), "Back to Black" had a similar sound to "Frank" but much more flair and spark to it. Winehouse was inspired by girl group soul of the '60s, and fortunately Ronson and Remi were two of the most facile and organic R&B producers active.

As before, Winehouse wrote all of the songs from her experiences, most of which involve the occasionally riotous and often bittersweet vagaries of love. Also in similar fashion to "Frank", her eye for details and her way of relating them are delightful. She states her case against Rehab on the knockout first single with some great lines: "They tried to make me go to rehab I won't go go go, I'd rather be at home with Ray" (Charles, that is).

As often as not, though, the songs on "Back to Black" are universal, songs that anyone, even Joss Stone, could take to the top of the charts, such as Love is a Losing Game or the title song ("We only said good bye with words, I died a hundred times / You go back to her, and I go back to black").


1. Rehab
2. You Know I'm No Good
3. Me & Mr Jones
4. Just Friends
5. Back to Black
6. Love is a Losing Game
7. Tears Dry on Their Own
8. Wake Up Alone
9. Some Unholy War
10. He Can Only Hold Her
11. Addicted

About this product: this reissue is pressed on 180g black vinyl.