Cart 0
Adwaith - Melyn CD/LP

Adwaith - Melyn CD/LP

  • $29.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Adwaith (transl. Reaction) are a Welsh-language indie-rock group from Carmarthen in West Wales, formed in 2015. The group currently consists of Hollie Singer (vocals, guitar), Gwenllian Anthony (bass, keys, mandolin), and Heledd Owen (drums).

"Adwaith" means reaction in Welsh. In an interview, Singer said, "One of our mothers asked what reaction was in Welsh, and we just thought 'Oh, that would make a cool band name!'

After forming a band and performing in the town, they remained without a drummer, and met current drummer Heledd Owen at their first performance. The band were taken on by head of Libertino Records, Gruff Wyn Owen. Singer and Owen study music at universities in south Wales and London respectively, while Anthony worked at Carmarthen venue the Parrot.

The band's single, Fel i Fod, is their most streamed to date with over half a million streams, and was used by the Football Association of Wales women's team in the buildup to their fixtures.

The band released their debut album, "Melyn" (transl. Yellow) in October 2018, recorded at Giant Wafer Studios in Powys and at Music Box in Cardiff, and produced by Estrons bass player Steff Pringle. The album's visually striking sleeve was designed by H. Hawkline.

The band's single, Gartref, was remixed in 2018 by Manic Street Preachers member James Bradfield, and their defiant post-punk track Y Diweddaraf was named Clash Magazine's Track of the Day for the 1st of October.

The band soon after featured in The Guardian for a piece on the growth of Welsh-language pop culture, and have only gone from strength-to-strength since, earning themselves well-deserved spots supporting the likes of IDLES and Manic Street Preachers.


1. Intro
2. Lipstick Coch
3. O Dan y Haenau
4. Yn Fy Mhen
5. Colli Golwg
6. Newid
7. Y Rhai Gorau
8. Diafol a Fi
9. Pwysau
10. Y Diweddaraf
11. Osian
12. Fel i Fod
13. Cariad Cytser
14. Gartref
15. Tair

About this product: this reissue is pressed on transparent yellow vinyl. Includes a download code.