Cart 0
Various Artists ‎- African Scream Contest 2 2LP

Various Artists ‎- African Scream Contest 2 2LP

  • £28.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The new compilation out on Analog Africa, a new treasure-trove of Vodoun-inspired Afrobeat heavy-funk crossover greatness from Benin, West Africa, every bit as joyous a voyage of discovery as its predecessor was 10 years ago.

A great compilation can open the gate to another world.

Who knew that some of the most exciting Afro-funk records of all time were actually made in the small West African country of Benin? Once Analog Africa released the first "African Scream Contest" in 2008, the proof was there for all to hear; gut-busting yelps, lethally well-drilled horn sections and irresistibly insistent rhythms added up to a record that took you into its own space with the same electrifying sureness as any favourite blues or soul or funk or punk sampler you might care to mention.

Ten years on, intrepid crate-digger and Analog Africa founder Samy Ben Redjeb unveils a new treasure-trove of Vodoun-inspired Afrobeat heavy funk crossover greatness, featuring 14 tracks from 1963 - 1980. Right from the laceratingly raw guitar fanfare which kicks off Les Sympathics’ pile-driving opener, the previously unreleased A Min We Vo Nou We, it’s clear that "African Scream Contest 2" is going to be every bit as joyous a voyage of discovery as its predecessor.


1. A Min We Vo Nou We [Les Sympathics de Porto-Novo]
2. Asaw Fofar [Ignace De Souza & The Melody Aces]
3. Dja Dja Dja [Stanislas Tohon]
4. L'enfance [Elias Akadiri & Sunny Black's Band]
5. Mé Adomina [Picoby Band D'Abomey]
6. Nounignon Ma Kpon Midji [Antoine Dougbé]
7. Moulon Devia [Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou]
8. Paulina [Black Santiago]
9. Glenon Ho Akue [Lokonon André and L'Orchestre Les Volcans]
10. Sadé [Sebastien Pynasco and L'Orchestre Black Santiago]
11. Baba L'Oke Ba'Wagbe [Super Borgou De Parakou]
12. Gangnidodo [Cornaire Salifou Michel and L'Orchestre El Rego & Ses Commandos]
13. How Much Love Naturally Cost [Gnonnas Pedro And His Dadjes Band]
14. Idavi [Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou]

About this product: this compilation is pressed on 2x black vinyl, housed in gatefold packaging and comes with a 24-page booklet. Download code for Bandcamp included.