Cart 0

Holding Absence - The Greatest Mistake Of My Life 2LP

  • £30.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Hindsight is a powerful and complex thing, and a phenomenon whose intricacies are explored in captivating fashion on "The Greatest Mistake Of My Life", the second album from Cardiff’s Holding Absence.

Building on the excellent foundations laid down by the band’s eponymous debut record, released in 2019, and following standalone singles Gravity and Birdcage, the four-piece have returned with a group of songs that, in the view of vocalist Lucas Woodland, are the truest representation of Holding Absence to date.

Inspired by a song of the same name that was recorded in the 1930s by actor and singer Dame Gracie Fields, "The Greatest Mistake Of My Life" is rooted in a time long before Holding Absence even existed. Lucas’ great uncle covered the song during the 1950s - something the frontman repeats on this album – and after finding this out from his grandmother, the singer decided the poignancy of its words were worthy of titling Holding Absence’s next record.

As the band have proved, the greatest mistakes can sometimes open the door to even greater triumphs.


1. awake
2. Celebration Song
3. Curse Me with Your Kiss
4. Afterlife
5. Drugs and Love
6. In Circles
7. nomoreroses
8. Beyond Belief
9. Die Alone (in Your Lover's Arms)
10. phantoms
11. Mourning Song
12. The Greatest Mistake of My Life

About this product: this is the UK Exclusive Limited Edition, pressed on 2x 140g 'Oxblood on Creamy White' vinyl.