Cart 0
Dennis Bovell - The DuBMASTER: The Essential Anthology 2CD/2LP

Dennis Bovell - The DuBMASTER: The Essential Anthology 2CD/2LP

  • $36.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Since making his recording debut in the early Seventies with legendary British reggae band, Matumbi, Dennis ‘Blackbeard’ Bovell has repeatedly demonstrated his supreme talent and versatility in a variety of music fields. And yet enormity of his impact upon the UK’s music scene over the past five decades has remained largely overlooked.

The "DuBMASTER - The Essential Anthology" sets to finally address this injustice by presenting the first serious retrospective of Dennis’s output as both a performer and producer.

Charting his career from the Seventies up to the present day, this handsomely packaged set presents 24 of his most celebrated reggae works - including Janet Kay’s seminal lovers rock classic, Silly Games – as well as rarities and previously unissued treasures from the vaults.

Compiled by the artist himself, the collection is further enhanced by Dennis’s fascinating account of his life in the music business over the past half century, with his words enriched by rare photos.


1. Raindrops [Dennis Matumbi]
2. Za-lon [The 4th Street Orchestra]
3. Blood Ah Go Run [Dennis Matumbi]
4. Choose Me [African Stone]
5. Row, Row, Row [The 4th Street Orchestra]
6. Brain Damage [Dennis Bovell]
7. Chief Inspector [Dennis Bovell]
8. Dub Master [Dennis Bovell & The Dub Band]
9. Silly Dub [Dennis Bovell]
10. Oh Mama Oh Papa [Dennis Bovell]
11. Pickin' Up the Piece[Dennis Bovell]
12. Caught You in a Lie [Dennis Bovell]
13. Silly Games [Janet Kay]
14. A Little Way Different [Errol Dunkley]
15. Differentah [Julio 'Dreadful' Finn]
16. Get Up Stand Up [I-Roy]
17. Our Tune [Marie Pierre]
18. Tom Hark [Captain Morgan & His Merry Men]

19. African Queen [Errol Campbell]
20. Africa is Our Land [Joshua Moses]
21. Take Five [The Young Lions]
22. Hooked on You [Delory Wilson]
23. Guide Us, Jah [Johnny Clarke]
24. Can't Go Through (with Life) (Dancehall Version) [Marie Pierre]

About this product: this release is pressed on 2x black vinyl.