Cart 0
Madness - Mad Not Mad LP

Madness - Mad Not Mad LP

  • £22.00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

"Mad Not Mad" is the sixth studio album by Madness. Originally released in September 1985, it marked a departure from the band’s original line-up, with keyboard player Mike Barson taking a break from the group after an astonishingly successful run of five hit albums in as many years.

Style-wise "Mad Not Mad" presented a more polished side of Madness and contains some of their most sophisticated and political song-writing. The first single, Yesterday’s Men finds the band in a smooth, reflective mood, dealing with the dispossessed characters in and around Camden Town, and Sweetest Girl is a cover of the iconic Scritti Politti track, while Uncle Sam is a classic Madness romp relayed through the narrative of a soldier’s experiences during World War II.

Within a few weeks of its initial release, NME listed "Mad Not Mad" at number 55 on their list of the “100 Best Albums Of All Time” and it remains in its 2015 list of the “50 Best Albums Released in 1985”.

This LP reissue is pressed on 180g black vinyl and features brand new liner notes by Chrissy Boy, Chas Smash, Woody and Lee Thompson.


1. I'll Compete
2. Yesterday's Men
3. Uncle Sam
4. White Heat
5. Mad Not Mad
6. Sweetest Girl [Scritti Politti cover]
7. Burning the Boats
8. Tears You Can't Hide
9. Time
10. Coldest Day

About this product: this reissue is pressed on 180g black vinyl.