Cart 0
Art Blakey And The Jazz Messengers - The Witch Doctor LP

Art Blakey And The Jazz Messengers - The Witch Doctor LP

  • £35.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Recorded in 1961, but not released until 1967, "The Witch Doctor" features one of Art Blakey and The Jazz Messengers’ all-time great line-ups: Wayne Shorter on tenor saxophone, Lee Morgan on trumpet, Bobby Timmons on piano, and Jymie Merritt on bass.

Shorter and Morgan each contribute two tunes, with Timmons penning one. Highlights include Morgan’s spectacular 6/8 modal piece Afrique and Shorter’s minor masterpiece Those Who Sit and Wait. Bobby Timmons brings the deep soul goods on his composition A Little Busy, and the album closes with a fleet-footed romp through Clifford Jordan’s tune Lost and Found.

Blue Note Records’ Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analogue, mastered-from-the-original-master-tapes, 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging.


1. The Witch Doctor
2. Afrique
3. Those Who Sit and Wait
4. A Little Busy
5. Joelle
6. Lost and Found

About this product: this is pressed on 180g black vinyl, housed in a gatefold sleeve.