Cart 0
Nina Simone - At The Village Gate CD

Nina Simone - At The Village Gate CD

  • $13.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

“The breath-taking originality of the second half of the show is what makes this album great. Opening with Oscar Brown, Jr.’s Brown Baby and then Michael Olatunji’s Zungo and delivering a long version of another traditional song Children, Go Where I Send You, Simone makes a profound stand on the black musical tradition, drawing on her deep reading in Frantz Fanon’s auto-theory and Leopold Senghor’s ideas on negritude to create a body of work that transcends jazz styles and critical pigeonholes. She was unique, but only because she drew on multitudes.” - Brian Morton

Line-up : Nina Simone, vocals and piano (on all tracks), with Al Shackman, guitar; Chris White, bass; and Rob Hamilton, drums.


1. Just In Time
2. He Was Too Good to Me
3. House of the Rising Sun
4. Bye Bye Blackbird
5. Brown Baby
6. Zungo
7. If He Changed My Name
8. Children, Go Where I Send You
9. Summer Me
10. Exactly Like You
11. The Other Woman
12. Fine and Mellow
13. Trouble in Mind
14. You’d Be So Nice to Come Home To
15. My Baby Just Cares for Me