Cart 0

Manic Street Preachers - Know Your Enemy 2CD/3CD BOOK/2LP

  • £14.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Manic Street Preachers release a radically reimagined version of their 6th album "Know Your Enemy" on 9th September 2022.

The new version of the album has been entirely remixed and reconstructed to form two separate albums as originally planned. "Know Your Enemy" will be available digitally and as a 3CD bookset, double CD and double vinyl sets.

This deluxe release includes two previously unheard ‘forgotten’ tracks: Studies in Paralysis and Rosebud, which is available online today (22nd July 2022). Beginning all wiry and cracked, Rosebud soon opens out into a stuttering Hammond organ riff, a pensive rhythm track and a lyric that regrets “most things I never finished. A Kieran Evans directed video for Rosebud is online now.

Following the success of 1998’s’ "This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours", Manic Street Preachers planned an ambitious follow-up to be released as two distinct albums: an aggressive, rapid fire return to their roots called "Solidarity" and "Door To The River", a more conciliatory, reflective collection. During the recording sessions, the trio got cold feet and settled on a single album that forced often conflicting ideas to sit side-by-side on the same record.

"Know Your Enemy" was launched in February 2001 with a show at Teatro Karl Marx in Havana in front of the Cuban leader and charted at No.2 in the UK the following week, going on to see over half a million copies worldwide. The singles taken from the album: So Why So Sad, Found That Soul, Ocean Spray and Let Robeson Sing all reached the Top 20.

Whilst going through the band’s archive to put together an anniversary version of "Know Your Enemy", Nicky Wire found the original tapes of "Solidarity" and "Door To The River" that he’d made up in the studio during recording. When he put forward the idea of recreating those records, James Dean Bradfield agreed on the condition that he could remix the entire record with the band’s long-time studio partner Dave Eringa.

The new mixes would bring a clarity to each record, losing extraneous studio effects and digital noise from the "Solidarity" songs and stripping away unnecessary orchestration and embellishment from the tracks that made up "Door To The River".



1. The Year of Purification
2. Ocean Spray
3. So Why So Sad
4. Door to the River
5. Rosebud
6. Just a Kid
7. His Last Painting
8. Let Robeson Sing
9. Groundhog Days
10. Epicentre
11. His Last Painting
12. Epicentre
13. So Why So Sad
14. Royal Correspondent


1. Intravenous Agnostic
2. Found That Soul
3. We Are All Bourgeois Now
4. Freedom of Speech Won’t Feed My Children
5. The Convalescent
6. Baby Elian
7. Masses Against the Classes
8. My Guernica
9. Studies in Paralysis
10. Dead Martyrs
11. Wattsville Blues
12. Miss Europa Disco Dancer
13. Fear of Motion
14. Pedestal
15. Didn’t My Lord Deliver Daniel
16. Locust Valley
17. Masking Tape
18. Ballad of the Bangkok Novotel
19. Little Trolls


1. Ocean Spray (Demo)
2. So Why So Sad (Demo)
3. Door to the River (Demo)
4. His Last Painting (Demo)
5. Let Robeson Sing (Demo)
6. Groundhog Days (Demo)
7. Epicentre (Demo)
8. Intravenous Agnostic (Demo)
9. Freedom of Speech Won’t Feed My Children (Demo)
10. The Convalescent (Demo)
11. His Last Elian (Demo)
12. Masses Against the Classes (Demo)
13. My Guernica No 1 (Demo)
14. My Guernica (Demo)
15. Dead Martyrs (Demo)
16. Wattsville Blues (Demo)

About this product: this reissue is available on 2CD, 3CD BOOK and 2LP formats.

The 2CD is housed in a digipack.

The 2LP is pressed on 180g black vinyl, housed in a gatefold sleeve.