Cart 0
Jackson Conti (Madlib and Mamao) - Sujinho 2LP

Jackson Conti (Madlib and Mamao) - Sujinho 2LP

  • £38.00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Madlib Invazion reissues Madlib’s collaboration with legendary Brazilian drummer Ivan “Mamao” Conti, propellant for lauded jazz fusion archetypes Azymuth.

First released in 2008 on CD by the US based Mochilla imprint with vinyl being issued only in Europe on the Kindered Sprits label. Both formats are out of print with vinyl unavailable since its initial run. This reissue features alternate cover artwork, photography by B+.

When Madlib went to Brazil in 2002 with Mochilla to participate in the production of Brasilintime his one mission was to meet Ivan “Mamao” Conti the drummer of the legendary trio Azymuth. Madlib had made an Azymuth tribute record he wanted to play for him. On a rainy night in Rio Mamao and Madlib went in the studio. Several hours later the rhythm tracks that make up Sujinho were laid and the process began.

Featuring the music of Madlib, Mamao, Edu Lobo, Chico Buarque de Hollanda, Luiz Eca, Baden Powell, Vinicius De Moraes, Marcos Valle, Joao Donato, Dom Um Romao, Airto Moreira and even George Duke… and with guest vocals by Thalma De Freitas — Jackson Conti is a unique and classic record.

Filled with the angularity and edge of a Madlib production and underwritten by the polyrhythmics of Mamao — Sujinho takes Brazilian music into places it has never been, bringing oft forgotten classics like Upa Neguinho to 21st century ears.


1. Mamaoism
2. Berumba
3. Anna De Amsterdam Interlude
4. Praca Da Republica
5. Papaya
6. Brasilian Sugar
7. Sao Paulo Nights
8. Xibaba
9. Upa Neguinho
10. Casa Forte
11. Amazon Stroll
12. Berimbau
13. Anna De Amsterdam Reprise
14. Waiting on the Corner
15. Tijuca Man
16. Nao Tem Nada Nao
17. Sunset at Sujinho
18. Segura Esta Onda

About this product: this is the RSD Black Friday '21 reissue on 2x black vinyl.