Cart 0

David Bowie - Toy (Toy:Box) 3CD/6x10" BOX SET

  • £80.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

"Toy:Box" - the previously unreleased "Toy" album will be released on 7th January 2022, the day before David Bowie’s birthday.

The ‘capture the moment’ approach of the recording sessions are extended to the sleeve artwork designed by Bowie featuring a photo of him as a baby with a contemporary face. The package also contains a 16-page full-colour book featuring previously unseen photographs by Frank Ockenfels 3.

"Toy" was recorded following David's triumphant Glastonbury 2000 performance. Bowie entered the studio with his band, Mark Plati, Sterling Campbell, Gail Ann Dorsey, Earl Slick, Mike Garson, Holly Palmer and Emm Gryner, to record new interpretations of songs he’d first recorded from 1964-1971. David planned to record the album ‘old school’ with the band playing live, choose the best takes and then release it as soon as humanly possible in a remarkably prescient manner.

Unfortunately, in 2001 the concept of the ‘surprise drop’ album release and the technology to support it were still quite a few years off, making it impossible to release "Toy", as the album was now named, out to fans as instantly as David wanted. In the interim, David did what he did best; he moved on to something new, which began with a handful of new songs from the same sessions and ultimately became the album "Heathen", released in 2002 and now acknowledged as one of his finest moments.

Included in each box is a second CD/set of 10”s of alternative mixes and versions including proposed B- Sides (versions of David’s debut single Liza Jane and 1967’s In The Heat Of The Morning), later mixes by Tony Visconti and the ‘Tibet Version’ of Silly Boy Blue recorded at The Looking Glass Studio time at the of the 2001 Tibet House show in New York featuring Philip Glass on piano and Moby on guitar. The third CD/set of 10”s features "Unplugged; Somewhat Slightly Electric" mixes of thirteen "Toy" tracks.


- TOY -

1. I Dig Everything
2. You've Got a Habit of Leaving
3. The London Boys
4. Karma Man
5. Conversation Piece
6. Shadow Man
7. Let Me Sleep Beside You
8. Hole in the Ground
9. Baby Loves That Way
10. Can't Help Thinking About Me
11. Silly Boy Blue
12. Toy (Your Turn to Drive)

About this product: this release is available on 3CD and 6x10" Box Set formats.