Cart 0
Anathema - The Silent Enigma LP

Anathema - The Silent Enigma LP

  • £22.00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Anathema have spent most of their career making music that defies description. As part of the Peaceville 3, along with Paradise Lost and My Dying Bride, Anathema have carved a strong legacy since their inception at the turn of the 1990's, to become a widely revered and respected band within both the metal world and beyond, as their sound and compositions progressed from doom/ death metal into more rock and progressive territory with each subsequent release, becoming one of the UK's most cherished and critically acclaimed rock bands.

"The Silent Enigma", Anathema's second studio album, was originally released in the summer of '95 and was the first release on which guitarist Vincent Cavanagh took over the vocal duties of the departed Darren White. Where Darren's vocals were guttural, Vincent's style pushed the possibilities for Anathema onwards and upwards, with a scope and breadth beyond his years, complimenting an ethereal roller- coaster of thoughtful atmospherics and crushing Celtic Frost style riffs - the Swiss legends being a notable inspiration.

What emerged was a fine example of highly atmospheric and often emotional gothic doom, spawning classic Anathema songs such as Restless Oblivion, Sunset of Age, The Silent Enigma and A Dying Wish. Lauded by the metal press and fans alike as a doom metal classic, the album's popularity has remained a favourite within the metal scene.


1. Restless Oblivion
2. Shroud of Frost
3. ...Alone
4. Sunset of Age
5. Nocturnal Emission
6. Cerulean Twilight
7. The Silent Enigma
8. A Dying Wish
9. Black Orchid

About this product: this reissue is pressed on black vinyl.