Cart 0
Various Artists - Spell Songs II: Let The Light In 2LP

Various Artists - Spell Songs II: Let The Light In 2LP

  • £26.00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

"Spell Songs" offers a musical voice to the forgotten and often endangered natural world that surrounds us. It comprises an ensemble of musicians collaborating with E.M Forster Award- winning author Robert Macfarlane and award-winning illustrator Jackie Morris; to create a listening experience that intersects music, literature, language and art, as a call to reawaken our love of the wild.

The "Spell Songs" ensemble includes and features Karine Polwart, Julie Fowlis, Seckou Keita, Kris Drever, Rachel Newton, Beth Porter and Jim Molyneux — all renowned musicians in their own right. Together, their music blends a diverse array of sounds from instruments like the kora, electroharp, cello, Indian harmonium and more, which are gorgeously layered with musical and linguistic influences spanning from Orkney to Senegal.

"Spell Songs II: Let The Light In", produced and recorded by Andy Bell of Hudson Records at Real World Studios, is the follow up to the group’s 2019 self-titled album, which The Guardian called "a brave and magical creation" and accompanied ’The Lost Words’ and ‘The Lost Spells’ best-selling books, created in response to the loss of nature words from our children's everyday vocabulary.


1. Bramble [Karine Polwart]
2. St Kilda Wren [Julie Fowlis]
3. Oak [Kris Drever]
4. Swifts [Rachel Newton]
5. Jay [Seckou Kaita]
6. Daisy [Bethany Porter]
7. Swallow [Jim Molyneux]
8. Bird of the Blizzard [Julie Fowlis]
9. Thrift (Dig In, Dig In) [Karine Polwart]
10. Gorse [Bethany Porter]
11. Red is Your Art [Kris Drever]
12. Barn Owl [Seckou Keita]
13. Moth [Karine Polwart]
14. Curlew [Rachel Newton]
15. Silver Birch [Julie Fowlis]

About this product: this release is pressed on 2x black vinyl with Stereo mastering.