Cart 0
Tortoise - TNT 2LP

Tortoise - TNT 2LP

  • £40.00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

"TNT", Tortoise’s third full-length release, was written and recorded during a 10-month interval in 1997. This longer-than-usual writing / production schedule was purposefully undertaken by the group in the hopes of crafting an expansive, diverse, yet thematically coherent offering.

"TNT" builds upon the spare, instrumental framework of the group’s first, self-titled album, and the extended edits, melodic adventures, and klangfarben of the subsequent full-length release, "Millions Now Living Will Never Die". Further to this, Tortoise’s interest in the possibilities offered by the remixing of tracks was realized within the actual production of "TNT"; individual elements, sections, or sometimes whole compositions mutate within the album’s shifting framework.

These techniques were suitably realized, thanks in part to the use of non-linear digital recording and editing methods, the first example of such work for the group.


1. TNT
2. Swung from the Gutters
3. Ten-Day Interval
4. I Set My Face to the Hillside
5. The Equator
6. A Simple Way to Go Faster Than Light That Does Not Work
7. The Suspension Bridge at Iguazú Falls
8. Four-Day Interval
9. In Sarah, Mencken, Christ, and Beethoven There Were Women and Men
10. Almost Always Is Nearly Enough
11. Jetty
12. Everglade

About this product: this reissue is pressed on 2x 'Jalapeno Green' vinyl, housed in a deluxe gatefold sleeve. Includes a download code.