Cart 0

Various Artists - In The Beginning There Was Rhythm CD/2LP

  • £13.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Unavailable for over 20 years, "In The Beginning There Was Rhythm" was Soul Jazz Records first foray into post-punk and punk-funk in the UK and captures the groundbreaking and seminal groups that crossed the divide of punk and dance music for the first time.

First released in 2001, this album is fully remastered, remade and presented once more in its entirety and features A Certain Ratio, Cabaret Voltaire, Throbbing Gristle, The Human League, The Pop Group, Gang of Four, The Slits, 23 Skidoo and This Heat.

This album comes as a double black vinyl edition complete with two bespoke inner bags containing extensive sleevenotes and original photography.


1. Shack Up [A Certain Ratio]
2. Coup [23 Skidoo]
3. To Hell with Poverty [Gang of Four]
4. Being Boiled [The Human League]
5. In the Beginning, There Was Rhythm (Early Version) [The Slits]
6. Track Loop [This Heat]
7. 20 Jazz Funk Greats [Throbbing Gristle]
8. She Is Beyond Good and Evil [The Pop Group]
9. Sluggin Fer Jesus [Cabaret Voltaire]
10. Vegas El Bandito [23 Skidoo]
11. Knife Slits Water [A Certain Ratio]

About this product: this reissue is available on CD and 2LP formats.

The CD is housed in a jewelcase.

The 2LP is pressed on black vinyl. Includes a download code.