Cart 0
Townes Van Zandt - Flyin' Shoes CD

Townes Van Zandt - Flyin' Shoes CD

  • £16.00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

After a five-year layoff, Van Zandt returned to the studio for one of his most solid, concise albums. Unlike the compressed singer-in-a-studio sound of his early recordings, "Flyin' Shoes" features sympathetic, organic backing from greats like Chips Moman, Jimmy Day Spooner Oldham. This helps Townes' subtly poetic tunes to come across.

When She Don't Need Me and No Place to Fall are elegant love songs that depart form the country-folk style in the manner of "Delta Momma Blues". You Are Not Needed Now, Snake Song, Dollar Bill Blues and Rex's Blues' are classic Townes; dark, incisive imagery and simple-but-effective folk-tinged melodies. The title tune is a beautiful ballad that casts a hopeful eye toward spiritual redemption.

Beautifully remastered and repackaged with full-colour booklet, sleeve notes, interview and full lyrics to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the beginning of Townes Van Zandt's musical career.

16-page fully illustrated CD booklet with sleeve notes by Lola Scobey featuring a rare Townes Van Zandt interview, photos and complete lyrics.


1. Loretta
2. No Place to Fall
3. Flyin' Shoes
4. Who Do You Love
5. When She Don't Need Me
6. Dollar Bill Blues
7. Rex's Blues
8. Pueblo Waltz
9. Brother Flower
10. Snake Song