Cart 0
Joni Mitchell - The Asylum Years (1972-1975) 4CD

Joni Mitchell - The Asylum Years (1972-1975) 4CD

  • £45.00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Joni Mitchell was at a turning point 50 years ago. After making four acclaimed albums with Reprise Records, including her 1971 masterpiece "Blue", she left the label to join the brand-new Asylum Records in 1972.

Over the next seven years, Mitchell would record some of the most acclaimed music of her career while changing her musical direction by adding more jazz elements into her song writing. The evolution culminated in 1979 with Mingus, her collaboration with jazz titan Charles Mingus, and her last studio album for Asylum.

"The Asylum Albums (1972-1975)", the next instalment in the Joni Mitchell archive series, explores the beginning of that prolific era. The collection features newly remastered versions of "For The Roses" (1972), "Court And Spark" (1974), the double live album "Miles of Aisles" (1974), and "The Hissing Of Summer Lawns" (1975). All four were recently remastered by Bernie Grundman. The cover art for the set features a previously unseen painting by Mitchell. The set also includes an essay by friend and fellow Canadian Neil Young.

"The Asylum Albums (1972-1975)", follows Mitchell’s musical evolution over four albums as she embraced more jazz-inspired pieces and moved away from the folk and pop of her early years. It includes essential tracks like her first Top 40 hit, You Turn Me On, I’m A Radio and her highest-charting (#7) single Help Me, plus favourites like Free Man In Paris, Raised On Robbery and In France They Kiss On Main Street.

Mitchell has been intimately involved in producing the collection, lending her vision and personal touch to every element.



1. Banquet
2. Cold Blue Steel and Sweet Fire
3. Barangrill
4. Lesson In Survival
5. Let the Wind Carry Me
6. For the Roses
7. See You Sometime
8. Electricity
9. You Turn Me On I'm a Radio
10. Blonde In the Bleachers
11. Woman of Heart and Mind
12. Judgement of the Moon and Stars (Ludwig's Tune)


1. Court and Spark
2. Help Me
3. Free Man In Paris
4. People's Parties
5. Same Situation
6. Car on a Hill
7. Down to You
8. Just Like This Train
9. Raised on Robbery
10. Trouble Child
11. Twisted


1. You Turn Me On I'm a Radio
2. Big Yellow Taxi
3. Rainy Night House
4. Woodstock
5. Cactus Tree
6. Cold Blue Steel and Sweet Fire
7. Woman of Heart and Mind
8. A Case for You
9. Blue
10. Circle Game
11. People's Parties
12. All I Want
13. Real Good for Free
14. Both Sides Now
15. Carey
16. The Last Time I Saw Richard
17. Jericho
18. Love or Money


1. In France They Kiss on Main Street
2. The Jungle Line
3. Edith and the Kingpin
4. Don't Interrupt the Sorrow
5. Shades of Scarlett Conquering
6. The Hissing of Summer Lawns
7. The Boho Dance
8. Harry's House / Centerpiece
9. Sweet Bird
10. Shadows and Light

About this product: this release is housed as a box set.